Shh… The Secrets of Spammers Revealed


no spam!

Image via Wikipedia

I have a dilemma.

For some strange reason, one of the things I love most about my work in social media research is eradicating spam from data. I get a high from watching record counts decrease, not increase, because I know when I look in the spam catcher, it will be full of the right stuff. Free drugs, fake celebrity tapes, twitter bots. I’m drooling just thinking about it. Me need more spam.

There’s one thing that I would love to share with you but I can’t. I would love to tell you all the nasty secrets and tricks that the team at Conversition has learned to identify and kill it. I’d love to show you what screams out to us, “This is spam!” But I can’t. Because if I show you, then I show the spammers and I can’t stay ahead of them if I give out my secrets.

So in the meantime, take pleasure in my pleasure. Spam may knock on our door but the door is triple bolted and eight giant-toothed dogs are barking fiercely behind it.