Bursting my market research bubble


ASTM International logo

Image via Wikipedia

[tweetmeme source=”lovestats” only_single=false]Today I was lucky enough to be a presenter at the ASTM workshop on sensory evaluation.  I quite enjoyed the format whereby people moved in small groups from presentation to presentation. It meant that I was able to give each group some one on one attention in the specific areas that were relevant to them. It also meant that there was lots of discussion in each group. It’s a format I’d highly recommend where suited.

I will admit that I had never heard of this organization before. As I’ve mentioned briefly elsewhere, there are just so many different groups with a market research focus that it’s impossible to keep track of them all.  And every group has a slightly different slant on MR which means… they burst my bubble.


Photo credit: pschubert from morguefile.com

I usually attend conferences by ESOMAR, MRA, MRIA, CASRO, etc etc. These conferences are stuffed with professional market researchers, folks who live day in and day out talking about the intricate details of statistics and research design. Some folks will also talk your face off about linkedin and twitter and facebook and blogger. The interesting thing about the ASTM group of people is that they don’t all live and breathe twitter like I do. They also do not live and breathe blogs. Nor should they.

It was an interesting situation in which I had to take a step back and rethink about all the social networking services I use, and talk about them from a beginners perspective. Tough work! But it was the shove I needed to bring me back to planet earth, the place where conversations take place over hot steamy coffee, not virtual coffee. So thank you ASTM for bursting my bubble. 🙂

You can see the presentation here on Linked in.

Read these too

One response

  1. Thanks for the great feedback! I am so glad we could provide you with a different perspective on the “world of research” landscape. We are so glad you chose to be a part of the journey with us.