Takes a licking and keeps on sticking #AMSRS 


As I think back to all the talks at #AMSRS 2015, a number of them have managed to stick with me even a few days after the event. Let me mention just a few.

  • Chris Savage spoke about having a relevant career. He talked about about being an expert, helping other people, having a point of view, and that YOU have the power to push your career. I’ve always firmly believed that my career is 100% under my control. Although bosses may hire and fire me, I am the person who decides which job to accept and which job to leave. I decide when to ask for a raise or a promotion. I decide when to do a good job or a great job (or a bad job). I decide when to volunteer for a task or spontaneously help a struggling colleague. If you believe that you are at the mercy of other people, then you need to reevaluate your entire outlook.
  • Todd Sampson demonstrated how elastic our brains are, even as we grow older and old. I can’t count how many times someone has told me they’re too old to learn Twitter or SAS or MacOS. I’m sick and tired of people saying they’re too old to learn something. You’re not too old. You’re lazy and you’ve given up.  Stop giving up. Stop making it someone else’s fault. If you don’t like where you are in your career, it is your responsibility to change it.
  • Brian Fine reiterated the mantra that NPS is insufficient. Does 7/10 tell you everything about how I feel today? Does 23 tell you everything about Apple Computers? A single number will never be able to tell you the entire story. Don’t let yourself be fooled with a simplicity that doesn’t actually exist. Today, I’m about 2/10, now on the 28th hour of transit home from Sydney having slept about 2 hours and stared unblinking at a TV screen for the rest. I’m tired and sore and took a real licking (I walked about 120 000 steps around North Head, Middle Head, and I walked from Coogee to Sydney all along the coast) but I’m also happy to replay lots of great conference memories in my head.
  • Roz Rowen gave a talk about Bogans that I can’t even briefly summarize. By the end of the talk, all I’d figured out was that it was something about people who wear flannel shirts. I wear flannel nighties so maybe it was a talk about me. Anyways, though we both speak English, all I can say is that I speak Canadian, she spoke Australian, and never the two shall meet. Our world is a wonderful mix of culture even among people who are so similar. Pardon me while I enjoy a mickie and a poutine on my chesterfield while wearing a touque.

Finally, I absolutely must end with a hug-filled shout-out to Leslea. I mentioned to her that I was going to play the ukulele, she noted that quite a few members of #AMSRS were singers, I suggested a flashmob, and she created the magic. She recruited the choir, arranged the harmonies, led rehearsals, and made my little song great. You totally rock Leslea. AMSRS is lucky to have you.🙂

One response

  1. Based only on your Blogs, Australia sounded like a very……different Conference.

    Brian Fine worked in Toronto for quite a few years.

    Would have loved to have heard your Uke / Choir number.

    Heavy duty Travel for sure!

    Sent from my iPad. C.

