The Internet of Annie #MRX #IOT


I did it. Yes. I broke down and spent my Christmas money. Let’s put aside the fact that I still get Christmas money from the moms and move on to what I spent it on.

In just six to eight weeks, this pretty little plum coloured Fitbit will arrive at my door. (The “make it pink so girls will buy it” marketing scheme works on me but plum is just as good.)

2015/01/img_0065.pngSupposedly, it will monitor my heart rate all the time including when I am awake and asleep. It would have been cool to have it a few weeks ago when my four wisdom teeth were ripped out of my face but I’m sure some other quite unpleasant event will greet me soon enough.

I’m quite looking forward to learning:
– how consistent my sleep is, and how many times I wake up at night
– whether my heart rate speeds up or slows down when I get ready for work or leave work, or when I go toy awesomely fun ukulele class
– how incredibly nuts my heart rate is when I speak at conferences, show up at cocktail hour, plow through a crowded exhibit hall. Though I may seem calm and relaxed, it really takes a ton of mind games to turn quiet me into loud me.

And at the same time, I’ll be wondering… If someone gets their hands on my data, what will they do with it? What products will they develop as they learn about me? What heart rate medications will they need to sell to me? What fitness products will they need to sell to me? Will I need to buy the shirt version to measure electrical outputs? The sock version to measure sweat outputs? The earbud version to measure brainwaves? What will marketers and brand managers learn about me and my lifestyle?

Now that I think about it, this is MY form of gamification. I can’t wait to see charts, watch trends, and compare Norms. And now that I’m learning Python and rstats, I would love to get my hands on the dataset of millions of people and millions more records. With permission of course.

One response

  1. Oh my Goodness!! Braveheart!

    Makes my Hip Pointer whining even wimpier! C.

