This. Must. Stop.


Welcome to my Facebook page. This morning, I woke up to this photo in my newsfeed. It had 20 comments and 15 likes by the time I saw it. And now, it has 27 likes and 5 more comments. Except for one comment, mine, every single person left a rude, mean, inappropriate comment that they would never say to someone’s face. But hey, it’s fine because everyone else did it and this person will never find out.

Out of no respect for the poster, and only common courtesy to my fellow humans, I have blacked out the names of each person who felt it was perfectly OK to laugh at someone else’s expense. Imagine how furious they would be if they saw personally critical comments of themselves online.

Who is the poster you ask? Well, I only friend three kinds of people on Facebook. My family – it’s not them. Personal friends and past acquaintances – it’s not them. Professional market researchers, marketers, advertisers, and other professional people in my business – yes it’s them.

This particular individual is currently the CEO of a company of more than 500 people (I feel sad for those employees) and the LinkedIn profile claims the poster is client oriented (I feel sad for the clients).

Please, I beg of you. When you see this show up in your newsfeed, comments by people you know and respect, let them know that this kind of behaviour is not acceptable. It won’t stop until someone has the guts to speak up and demand that it stop.

unacceptable social media behaviour

Why are so many people on depression medications? Why do so many people get plastic surgery? Why are so many people anorexic and bulimic? Why do people commit suicide? Why don’t people report being raped? Why are deliberately being mean?

While you’re at it, read this post from a woman who saw it happen to her.

#Respect

Other Posts

2 responses

  1. I agree with this people has to change…

  2. Wow, what a shame to see anyone at any age say mean things like this. Thanks for calling them out, Annie. Not one of us is perfect.

