When is a relationship not a relationship? #MRX


With university two decades behind me, I figured it was time to trade a broken, crooked, and poor quality reading chair for one I could sit in without fearing for my life.

I skipped on over to lazy-boy and picked up one of those surprisingly nice looking chairs with the foot rests. Since I don’t have a car, I provided my phone number and address to get home delivery. A few days later, the delivery company called me and arranged the pickup time. Now, yeah baby, the feeties are comfy!

However, a few weeks after that, I got another phone call. This call was from the folks at lazy-boy inviting me to an event at the store. Where, I assume, lovely products would be priced at a wonderful discount for me. And this event was only for their loyal fans. Apparently, I have a relationship with this brand now.

– I haven’t friended them on Facebook.
– I have never bought anything other than one single chair from them.
– They would not have my address if I hadn’t needed delivery.
– I wasn’t asked if they could take my information from their delivery schedule and add it to their marketing list.

I do believe I’ve been forced into an ongoing interaction I never asked for. I think I’m in a relationship I didn’t know I was in. Is that how brands make people happy now?

3 responses

  1. The key from this point is whether or not they honour your request to be removed from their call list.

  2. It doesn’t end. We bought a couch there four years ago, and we just had a call yesterday.

    1. Sigh. Now I have to do an offline unsubscribe.

