How to create a great twitterstream


There are a few basic rules to creating a great Twitterstream. The most obvious ones are

  • Follow people with similar interests
  • Don’t follow people who only tweet marketing messages
  • Don’t follow people who only tweet inspirational messages
  • Don’t follow people just because they followed you first

These tips will ensure that your Twitterstream is generally interesting and relevant. But, you’ll still see lots of irrelevant and uninteresting tweets with this method as most people like to create a bit of variety by tweeting off-topic once in while. It does potentially create a more fun reading pane for those just looking for something fun to read. savesearc

But, if you’re rushed or really need to focus, an open Twitterstream can sometimes bog you down. One of the best things you can do is create the perfect search string. For instance, here is the search string I use

esomar OR casro OR #mrmw OR #mmrx OR #mrx OR #newmr OR #ngmr OR #amsrs OR #mria -smut -bieber -directioners lang:en

The essential features are

  • Choose your favorite hashtags and insert “OR” between each of them
  • Choose terms you NEVER want to see. In my case, my stream is completely wiped of all things bieber and directioners. Just insert “-” before each of the dreaded words
  • Choose a language.  I only want to see English tweets so I type “lang:en: at the end of my search string
  • Run the search and then save it

As you use the search string every day, take note of which hashtags need to be added to the list to include or exclude more tweets. Re-save your search string and then delete the old one.  After a few days of adding and removing terms, you’ll end up with the perfect, highly relevant search string. Enjoy!deletesearch

[To delete an old search string, run the old search string. Then the delete option will appear in the corner.]

2 responses

  1. The one point I’d (slightly) digress on is “follow people with similar interests” (-ish). I get the most value from following people I frequently (and, in some cases, fundamentally) disagree with. It also helps you to escape the conformation bias trap, which is so much easier to fall into with interest (rather than friendship) networks.

    1. I think we still agree. For instance, I follow market researchers because we all talk about surveys and charts and data quality. But as you say, researchers who have completely different opinions on surveys and charts and data quality are the people who make my head spin and help me come up with new ideas.

