Dissecting the Bulgarian Chocolate Bar


My name is Annie and I have a weird habit. Whenever I travel to another country, I like to collect up as many chocolate bars that I don’t recognize as possible. I don’t collect Mars Bars or Snicker Bars or M&Ms. The more unpronounceable the name, the better. And with my recent trip to Bulgaria to speak at the ESOMAR BAMOR event, did I ever get a lot of unpronounceable names!

In Canada and the US, the range of chocolate bars is crazy. Peanut this, caramel that,  nouget over there. The combinations of ingredients never end. The interesting thing though is that in Bulgaria, there is definitely a checklist of to-dos when creating a chocolate bar. The flavours may be oh so slightly different, but the general design is identical. And here it is.

  • Bulgarian chocolate barsMost are more accurately described as wafer bars, not chocolate or candy bars
  • In between the wafers are thin layers of filling, perhaps icing or jam
  • Most bars remain crispy though the jam styles are completely soft
  • The bars are very lightly sweetened
  • Some have a very thin chocolate coating, thin enough that you can easily see the wafers through the chocolate
  • The chocolate coating melts extremely quickly in your fingers
  • If the underside is dipped in chocolate, it remains rough and untidy as opposed to glossy smooth

Out of the 19 chocolate bars I managed to find, most of them scored 3 or 4 on a five point scale. Two of them scored 2 out of 5, and the worst worst worst of all, was the one you see pictured below. 1 out of 5 is me just being polite.  But, you can see every essential feature of a Bulgarian chocolate bar in this image.

If you ever go to Bulgaria, buy every chocolate bar… but this one.🙂
P1070927

2 responses

  1. I think we are two peas in a pod! Whenever I travel I always try out the local chocolate bars. I have never been to Bulgaria but I wouldn’t mind trying the one you have pictured. It looks pretty good.

  2. You see, in our quest for the “best” chocolate we tend to forget about the bad bars, and in so doing, fail to acknowledge the courage and bravery of a chocolate maker who despite his reputable standing releases a bar so ghastly as to be unimaginable.

