15 Life Lessons From My Dad


My dad has doled out tons of good advice over my lifetime and I figure if it’s good enough for me, it’s good enough to share with you. So here goes.

  1. If you can’t pay for it in cash, don’t pay for it at all. No cash advances, no buy now pay later, no “dance of the rotating bank accounts.”
  2. Use credit cards for convenience, not to hold a balance.
  3. Pay your bills on the last day they are due. That penny in interest is a penny you didn’t have yesterday.
  4. Bring your sad lunch from home and drink the pitiful coffee at work. That’ll save you enough money to buy a new big screen TV every year. It will also encourage you to spend more time making a tasty lunch and realize that the work coffee is actually quite good.
  5. Know the difference between need and want.
  6. Buy life experiences, not stuff.
  7. Save your money.
  8. Don’t waste anything. Eat the leftover stew you didn’t really like, scrape the last of the chocolate pudding out of the bowl, squish the end of the toothpaste as much as you possibly can.
  9. If you break it, don’t buy a new one. Fix the one you have so it stays out of the landfill that much longer.
  10. If you must drive somewhere, be sure to run every errand that needs the car at the same time.
  11. Don’t work late. Go home on time and play with your kids.
  12. Get an education in anything from anywhere no matter what.
  13. When your neighbour is away, pick up their junk mail, take out their garbage, and leave car and feet tracks in their snow.
  14. Perform random and regular acts of kindness without being asked and without telling anyone.
  15. Have dessert with your dinner every single day.

14 responses

  1. Love this, Annie! It’s clear that fiscal responsibility and good stewardship are synonymous in in your family. I needed to read this one.

    1. Glad to hear it🙂

  2. This is great … I especially like number 6. I feel like this is one of those lists that would be great on a wall as a daily reminder about what’s important. Thanks for sharing.

    1. I’m glad you liked it🙂

  3. Jennifer Fred.

    Really enjoyed reading this! Sometimes our society feels so disposable (from things to people) and that makes me sad. As a marketer, sometimes it feels like we’re promoting this disposable ideal – but our goal should really be the opposite – to give people what they need – so they need less. Thank you for these sweet reminders!

    1. You’re very welcome🙂

    1. Dads are wise🙂

    1. Sounds like you had a great dad too

  4. Very Nice – agree with all except for “Eat the leftover stew you didn’t really like”. Life’s too short for bad food and you end up eating more dessert if you dont feel satisfied.

    1. Eating more dessert? You’re making an assumption that there was an option to eat more dessert AND that dessert was any better.🙂

  5. are we related? Thanks for the list. It’s remarkably consistent what my dad said. I used to get a headache rolling my eyes, but my ears were open. And since I’ve been a dad now for over a dozen years, I find myself sounding more like him than I ever expected. I’m going to put this next to my John Wooden’s Pyramid of Success.

    1. you don’t realize how wise your parents are until you’re very much an adult🙂

