10 Tips to Live Blog a Conference


Hunt and Peck Acoustic EP

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve live blogged at a few conferences now and have learned a few things along with way. It all comes down to preparation so here is how I prepare.

  1. Go online and find the conference schedule at least a day ahead. Copy the session title and speaker names into a draft post for each session you plan to attend. Ideally, the copy paste action will take any hyperlinks with it.
  2. Find each speaker’s twitter account and include the link to a relevant tweet in the post.
  3. If you they don’t have a twitter account (many social media experts/mavens/gurus don’t… interesting…), try to find their Linkedin account or personal blog. Same deal, paste a linked image of their account into the post.
  4. Consider including an introductory message on each post. Indicate the conference, that this is a live blog, that it will probably full of listening errors, yadda, yadda, yadda, don’t blame me or the speaker when I misinterpret what I heard.
  5. Prepare a list of relevant keywords and paste them into the keyword box for each of the blogs (e.g., the name of the conference, the location, topic). Be sure to include the speaker’s name.
  6. Once in the conference, sit out of the thick of things. Some people might be distracted by your typing so bug as few people as possible. Unless you’re sitting beside someone you don’t like. Then hunt and peck as loudly as you possibly can.
  7. Bring your power cord. Even if your netbook has a ten hour battery. it is guaranteed to lose power in about 28 minutes.
  8. Write your post OFFLINE. I cannot stress this enough. I’ve lost a couple of really good posts because the hotel internet connection broke off mid-talk. Just write your post in Word or Notepad.
  9. I tend to stop taking notes as soon as the speaker starts to take questions. At this point, I make sure the internet is working, I copy the post into WordPress, add a couple extra keywords, check the spelling, check the links, choose an image, and click submit. If something juicy comes up during question period, I can still add it in.
  10. And ta dum! This strategy usually means I have a post completed and launched in time to move to the next session.

2 responses

  1. Another alternative I use is to live tweet a conference presentation and copy all my tweets into a document, flip the order (getting the oldest posts to the top), and use the tweets as notes to build a recap blog post.

