Should you blog at conferences?


A photo take in Kelowna, B.C.

Image via Wikipedia

You’ve been thinking about doing it, you’ve watched other people do it, and you’ve read the output of someone doing it. But should you? Here is my advice, worth about 18 cents.

You shouldn’t blog conferences because:
1. It’s rude to the speaker
2. It’s distracting for people around you
3. It’s hard to pay complete attention to the speaker
4. The speaker doesn’t like it

Why you should blog conferences:
1. People who are never allowed to attend conferences can experience them
2. People in any time zone can join the conversation through side chats
3. It fills up any free time you may have outside official conference hours
4. It sparks business leads
5. It’s a good way to improve your writing skills

Personally, I’ve chosen to be a conference blogger. I bring a tiny netbook that doesn’t bang into the people beside me. I’m a touch typist so there’s no loud hunting and pecking. I do my best to be discreet. I will change a blog on the request of a speaker (I won’t change an opinion but I will correct or remove it.) When I’m the speaker, I want people to share anything they may have learned from me and on the flip side, I want to share what I’m learning too.

So when you see me at the MRA in Washington and the MRIA in Kelowna, yes, I’ll be live blogging. Maybe you too?

2 responses

  1. I find it extremely helpful especially for events I am unable to attend. I think it gives insight and makes the event and topic much larger. I don’t know if I agree that it is distracting to the speaker unless someone types with rock fingers, but I know what you mean.

    Information is to be shared and I think that it is a big undertaking for those who do it, but invaluable to those who follow along. When you say live blog, I assume you mean non-twitter (the ‘original micro-blog’)?

    1. By live-blog, I mean taking notes during the talk and posting almost immediately after the talk has finished. It’s tough work!🙂

