The Game of Life


Toilet paper tower (3)

Image via Wikipedia

I love shopping for toilet paper. It is one of the most exhilarating parts of my life. It’s extremely rewarding to choose between the 12 pack and the 24 pack knowing that my family won’t have to worry about running out mid-wipe for at least a week or two. I love taking the extra time to choose between extra soft and supreme soft knowing that it brings with it the responsibility of selecting the most appropriate texture for my loved ones’ bottoms. And making the important decision between 2 ply and 3 ply means that I’ve have the joy of taking charge of cleaning up those nasty messes that no one wants to talk about.

I truly enjoy and look forward to each of these decisions because it is fun to consider the myriad options and know that I have succeeded in bringing joy to my family.

Unfortunately, even though the process of shopping for toilet paper is extremely fun, the process of answering surveys about toilet paper shopping isn’t. I just wish there was some way to make answering toilet paper surveys more fun, like a game, like it is in real life.

Because I know if the survey taking experience emulated my real life experience, my survey answers would be more valid. Don’t you agree?

2 responses

  1. I can’t speak to the survey issue, but this category seems to me to represent the pinnacle of pricing research in action.
    Having finally made the decisions of softness, ply and brand, you still need a calculator to figure out whether the double-roll or single-roll format is a better idea. And a second cart to put the 36 roll pack in. If they ever go to a 72 roll pack, it’ll need to come with it’s own luggage cart. Can the economic-order-quantity inventory-sensing iPhone app be far behind?

    There’s so much choosing to do, many people would probably avoid making a decision altogether if it wasn’t pretty much a necessity.

    1. Luggage carts are a great idea. I wish I’d thought of that.

