What’s Gonna Kill You? An Infographic That Actually Works #MRX


We all love to buy lottery tickets and dream about how we’re going to spend our million dollar jackpot, even though our chance of winning is one in millions. And we don’t realize that our chances of winning a prize for completing a survey are often as good as 1 in 500 (that’s a survey plug!). It’s hard to visualize what those numbers mean. You really need a solid infographic to get a feel for it.

And, with all the infographic bashing I’ve been doing lately, perhaps it’s about time I share one that I think is actually good. The reason I like this one is that the visuals are essential for helping the reader understand the information being shared. They aren’t just pretty pictures that duplicate the text.  There’s no need to try to imagine what millions or thousands mean. It’s right before your eyes.

Here’s what’s gonna kill you.
.Odds of being killed infographic

Related Articles

Venn Diagram of Deep Fried, On a Stick, Sweets I Ate
A Pie Chart of my Favourite bars…
Pie Charts – Our Evil Friend
An Acceptable Use of Pie Charts: Van Gogh Color Distributions #MRX
Check Out the Statistical Outlier on my LinkedIn Cluster Analysis

7 responses

  1. I agree that the circles are a bit backwards with their sizes, but overall a neat idea! Now I just need to figure out where I can reproduce this for a client, lol. Thanks Annie!

    1. fyi, check the blogroll

  2. Scott: Like that one 🙂

    Okay, the data source isn’t entirely visible, but it says it’s USA figures for 2006. So, if your odds of dying in a terrorist attack are 1 in 88,000, in a population of 300,000,000+, I make that 3,400+ people killed in terrorist attacks in the USA in 2006. Really? Because I don’t remember seeing that on the news.

  3. I’d be interested in knowing in what country and in what year you’re that likely to die in a terrorist attack too.

  4. That top one is a TERRIBLE infographic! The things which are most likely to kill you are the least significant items on it – that’s incredibly poor communication.

    1. Good point! Perhaps if the layout was reversed it would be a bit better?

  5. Scott McCutcheon

    How about NatGeo’s iconic Ways to Go…? http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2007/02/hearts/death-text

    “Total odds of dying, any cause 1 in 1 (100%)”

