Is this significant?


The re-drawn chart comparing the various gradi...

Image via Wikipedia

Here’s a situation I come across all the time.
.
Someone points to their survey and asks, “Is this significant?”
I stare blankly at them. “Is what significant?”
Pointing again, they clarify their question, “This number here, is this number significant?”
I keep staring blankly, “Single numbers can’t be significant. It’s just a number.”
Now it is the asker’s turn to stare blankly at me.
I continue my answer, “A single number isn’t significant but a pair of numbers can be statistically different from each other. What number are you comparing it to?”
Eyes blinking, waiting, watching.
.
“Yes, yes, that single number is significant.”
.
.
Always remember, you endured what seemed liked decades of statistics classes to get where you are. You know what they mean, speak English, not statistician.

Related Articles

 

  • Size Matters in Statistics
  • Chicago’s Fabulous Architecture
  • What’s Your Twitter Segment?
  • 2009 ARF Great Mind Awards
  • #MRA_FOC #MRX Breakkie, Lunch, Breaks, and Celebration!
  • Advertising Campaigns I Love
  • One response

    1. thank you. huge pet peeve of mine.

