Radical Stats


The re-drawn chart comparing the various gradi...

Image via Wikipedia

What the heck is that?

I’m not a statistician. I’ve taken undergrad and grad courses in statistics but they certainly were not my main focus. But, I understand statistics and I like using them. Well, if you’ve read some of my previous posts about statistics, you have an idea of what i mean.

I don’t believe in decimal places.
I don’t place all my trust in statistical significance.
I recognize the lack of probability sampling when doing research with people.

I think that statistics are great at pointing you in a direction, giving you ideas, and making you think about things in a different way than you’re used to. When you see statistical significance in place you’ve never seen it before, it catches your attention and makes you wonder what’s going on. I think decimal places take your focus away from what really matters. I think the fight to identify what research methodology uses the best approximation of probability sampling.

So what am i really saying? Statistics are a tool, one device I can use when I need it. Let the statistics be what they may, significant or not, sufficient decimal places or not, and a passable attempt at probability sampling. Your brain is the best tool for determining whether a number is of any interest.

I love stats.

Related Articles

