Bread – My Current Favourite Recipe


This is the simplest bread recipe I’ve ever come across. I searched and searched and searched for a recipe that would yield the dense, sour bread I’d had in restaurants. I tried potato bread, egg bread, sour dough bread. I tried this one out of shear desperation and was happily rewarded!

No-Knead Bread
Published: November 8, 2006, New York Times
Adapted from Jim Lahey, Sullivan Street Bakery

3 cups all-purpose

1 5/8 cups water

¼ teaspoon yeast (either kind)
1¼ teaspoons salt

1. In a large bowl combine flour, yeast and salt. Add 1 5/8 cups water, and stir until blended; dough will be shaggy and sticky. Cover bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough 18 hours
2. Dough is ready when its surface is dotted with bubbles. Jiggle the bowl to collapse the rise.
3. At least a half-hour before dough is ready, heat oven to 450 degrees.
4. Dump onto pizza stone or into loaf pan. Bake 30 to 45 minutes, until loaf is browned. Cool on a rack.
Yield: One 1½-pound loaf.

