ARF AM5 Day 2: Bees, not buzz but busy!

Coconut macaroons, a type of popular meringue-...

Image via Wikipedia

We started bright and early at 8am again. Today, I claimed my seat in the “reserved for speakers” row right in front. Ok, so maybe I wasn’t speaking on those specific panels but people are scared to take the front row and I like it. How else are you to see peoples faces without squinting and take good videos!

The first few sessions reflected a normal curve with a yeller and a reader on the outlying points with most speakers taking a more moderate approach. My fave talk of the morning was a discussion of whether the ipad is a revolution or an evolution. I’m not sure where I stand as I don’t buy magazines to begin with and certainly wouldn’t spend hundreds of dollars to then spend a few more bucks on a magazine. But then I’m just cheap. I mean frugal. Yeah, that’s it.

Then, I was off to record a 15 minute video summary of my presentation. Somehow, it turned into an hour and a half discussion as the video team and Steve Rappaport had a unique interest in my topic. It does always seem to intrigue people when I explain how social media data can be properly analyzed and turned into research. And then, Joel Rubinson arrived and I got to admire two great minds at work!

Lunch was very nice and surprise surprise, there were macaroons for dessert! Not the coconut macaroons we are used to, but the meringue style you find all over Paris. Needless to say, after I left the table, there were no more left. :)

Then came my session. Between myself, Stacey Hall, Heather Milt, and Sean Case of Peanut Labs, we presented a session on using social media research to evaluate television viewing. Stacey started the show by describing just how massive the volume of social media data is. Then, I followed with a discussion of the research itself. And, given that USA had just won a world cup game, it only seemed fitting to begin and end the presentation with a blast from my blackberry vuvuzela app! (On that note, if you are annoyed by the sound of the app, make sure it isn’t your own making the noise when you wander into a quiet restaurant!)

The best compliment received after the presentation came from an elderly gentleman. You could stereotype and say “what does he care, he remembers the 1930 census.” Well, age is no measure of social media research appreciation. He watched the presentation and announced to us he was a convert. :)

The day ended with several more panel discussions slotted quickly after each other. Again, there was barely time to breathe before more neat ideas were rammed 2 by 2 into my head. I’m going to have to read my tweets as a refresher.

Finally, the most fun of the day was taping live commentary from the ARF team. There were some refusals but they quickly turned into videos. How could they say no when I won the flip video from them! Watch this space for that video!

As a newbie to this conference, it was definitely an eye opener for me. I heard a lot of new ideas that will float around my brain while I figure out how to apply them to my work. I also heard lots of familiar buzz words, met lots of new people, and listened to lots of tweeple. Now I can’t wait for the next conference. Maybe it will have 20 minute breaks?

Another A! BZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Read these too

  • Radical Stats
  • Ode to a Boxplot
  • Survey Design Tip #2: Short and Sweet
  • Survey Design Tip #1: Responders DON’T CARE
  • Privacy – Do you really think about it?
  • About these ads

    Agree? Disagree? Share your thoughts!

        Buy The Listen Lady Book

    Annie Pettit Buy Book listen lady amazon kindle ibookstore
    Now in the iBookstore!

    Learn about social media the quick and easy way. Buy your copy on Amazon.com the iBookstore or smashwords.

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog.

    Join 9,406 other followers

    LoveStats on Twitter

    All Top

    Featured in Alltop
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 9,406 other followers

