Advertising Campaigns I Love


First, I love the Dove Campaign for Beauty. I love that it promotes self-esteem and that it exposes the often misleading ‘beauty’ of people. You can watch as a perfectly normal looking lady is transformed by make-up artists, hair stylists, and graphic designers into an impossible estimation of beauty. For me, beauty has nothing to do with physical appearance but rather with one’s own personal choice to do what is right and be a good person. Based on the image of this lady, I have no idea if she is beautiful. All I see is that she feels it is extremely important to present herself with stylish make-up and hairdos. Thank you Dove.
.

.
.

This is a Pepsi commercial that opens eyes about other cultures, not culture in the way you’re used to, but one that is equally unique. You probably don’t realize that the world is made up of many people forced to fit into your world. Well, here’s an example of how YOU fit into someone else’s world. Make sure you’ve got your volume up.

.

.

.

This Dove commercial also focuses on self-esteem. It shows a bunch of young ladies with a variety of self-esteem issues. Too fat, too ugly, too this or that, none of which matter. Have you every unconsciously contributed to the myth? Over zealously complimented a young lady on her pretty appearance rather than her hard work or kind nature? I know I have. It’s hard not to do. You really have to make a conscious effort.
.

.
There’s another Dove commercial that shows a number of naked mature women, posing in discrete natural positions. None are super models, just normal real women. Some folks have had trouble with the nudity and so it is banned in some areas. But, I think it helps to promote the reality that all women are important and beautiful even if they are ‘fat’ or ‘wrinkly’ or not 18 years old. Everyone is beautiful, in their own way.
.

.
.
I also love the Discovery Channel commercial. Sure, it’s an ad for TV but if Steven Hawking contributed, it must be good! The ad actually makes me feel like crying because it reminds me about all the amazingly wonderful things in this world. Mushy enough for you?
.

.
We all know companies exist to make money, to pay their employees, to feed those families. Why not do it in a way that makes you go home and feel good about what you’re contributing to. Just like these. 😀

Related Articles

 

  • Geico chucks wood
  • 5 random things I like about statistics and proof you are a dork
  • Using Social Media Research to Predict the Future: That’s me saying yes you can!
  • Probability Sampling – Proof that only telephone samples are quality samples
  • Edward Tufte: Your Presentation Sucks Cause Your Content Sucks
  • Ray Poynter – Overview of Online Research Trends #netgain5